

FIBER SIG CONSTITUTION

I. Name

The name of this organization shall be The Scientific Interest Group on Fiber Diffraction of the American Crystallographic Association.

II. Purpose

The purpose of this group of the American Crystallographic Association (hereafter ACA) is to further the advancement of all aspects of the application of fiber diffraction techniques and to promote communication between persons interested in such techniques and results.

III. Relationship to the American Crystallographic Association (ACA)

The constitution of this organization shall be consistent with the Constitution, By-laws, and Operating Rules of the ACA. In the event of conflict the Constitution, By-laws and Rules of the ACA shall prevail.

IV. Membership

Membership in this Group is open to all members of the ACA on application and payment of the prescribed dues, if any.

V. Organization

The activities of this Group shall be administered by an Executive Committee of four officers elected by members of the Group. The officers of the Executive Committee shall be Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect, immediate past Chairperson and Secretary-Treasurer. It shall be the duty of the Chairperson to arrange, in cooperation with the ACA Program Chairperson, the Scientific Interest Sessions on Fiber Diffraction for the ACA meetings. The Chairperson-Elect and immediate past Chairperson shall serve in a special advisory capacity to the Chairperson and the Chairperson-Elect shall act in his capacity if for any reason the Chairperson cannot act. The Chairperson-Elect shall also serve to represent the Group to the Council of the Association and to be the Group's representative on the Program Committee of ACA meetings. The duties of the Secretary-Treasurer shall include the keeping of minutes of meetings, maintaining the membership list, reporting the activities of interest to the membership, and keeping a record of finances and expenditures of the Group shall be circulated along with the Newsletter of the ACA.

The term of office for each officer shall be the two calendar years immediately following election. The Chairperson-Elect automatically succeeds to the Chairpersonship after two years. Thus, a Chairperson-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer are elected every two years. Vacant, unexpired terms are filled by appointment by the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee shall appoint a Nominating Committee of three members, none of whom may be on the Executive Committee, to nominate candidates for election. The Nominating Committee shall be appointed by March 31st of each year and shall report its nominees to the Secretary-Treasurer by July 31st following. Other candidates may be nominated from the membership by petitions signed by five or more members. No persons may be regularly elected to any office of the Executive Committee for more than two consecutive terms. Elections shall take place at the same time as do ACA elections.

VI. Activities

The Executive Committee and the Group may engage in any activities consistent with the ACA Constitution, By-laws, and Operating Rules, which in its opinion further the purposes of the Group. These activities include, but are not restricted to, organizing a Fiber Diffraction half-day session, in cooperation with the ACA Program Chair, at least once every two years at an ACA meeting.

VII. Elections and Voting

All votes shall be by mail ballot. Votes shall be by a simple majority of those voting, except for votes on amendments to the Constitution (see IX.)

VIII. Dues

The Executive Committee may set dues to be charged to members of the group subject to an affirmative vote of the membership and to approval by the ACA Council. Such dues shall be collected and disbursed by the ACA Treasurer.

IX. Amendments

An amendment to the Constitution may be proposed at any time by a petition signed by 5% of the membership or 7 members, whichever is smaller, or by the Executive Committee. Amendments must be ratified by a 2/3 majority of the members voting. Votes shall be by mail ballot.