The main governing body of the American Crystallographic Association is the Council. The Council, which meets two to three times per year, sets policy and has the ultimate responsibility for the actions of the association. It is composed of a president, vice president, Canadian representative, secretary and treasurer. The membership elects these officers and each serves a three-year term, commencing on January 1st.

Ex-officio members appointed by the Council are the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer. A representative of the Young Scientist Scientific Interest Group is also an ex-officio member. The YSIG makes this appointment on an annual basis. A representative from the International Union of Crystallography may attend Council Meetings but has no voting privileges.

2023 ACA Executive Council Members: 

Cora Lind-Kovacs
The University of Toledo
 Vice President:
Allen Oliver
Notre Dame
Immediate Past President: 
Diana R. Tomchick
UT Southwestern Medical Center | Departments of Biophysics & Biochemistry
Canadian Representative:
Sara Andres 
McMaster University

Kushol Gupta
University of Pennsylvania

Stephan Ginell
Hauptman-Woodward Research Institute

2023 Council Appointments

YSIG Representative: 

Kenneth Childers 

Western Washington University 


IUCr Representative:

Thomas Proffen

Neutron Scattering Sciences Div, Oak Ridge National Lab

Executive Director:

Kristin H. Stevens

 US National Division

President 22-24

Tamir Gonen 

University of California, Los Angeles


Secretary/Treasurer 2021-23

Eric Reinheimer


2023 Non-Council Appointments 

RefleXions Editor:

Paul Swepston


Virginia Pett

ACA/AIP Representatives  

Member of AIP Publishing’s Board of Managers & Publishing Partnerships Committee:

Thomas Koetzle

Member of AIP Publishing’s Publishing Partnerships Committee:

Charles Carter

ACA Member of the AIP Board of Directors:
    Efrain Rodriguez
    ACA Representatives to AIP Liaison Committees
    ACA Representative to the AIP Liaison Committee on Underrepresented Minorities (LCURM):
    Alice Thwin
    ACA Representative to the AIP Liaison Committee
    Miriam Rossi (Term Ending 2023)

    ACA Representative to the AIP Liaison Committee on Public Policy (LCPP)

    Steven Sheriff (Term Ending 2024)

    Karen Glass (Term Ending 2024)
    Structural Dynamics 


    George N. Phillips, Jr.

    Structural Dynamics Board of Managers

    Prof John R. Helliwell
    S.N. Rao
    Penelope Lewis



    ACA Headquarters 
    Membership Secretary
    Kristina Vitale