2018 Committees

A number of committees develop many of the ACA policies and programs. Under the direction of Council, and with the assistance of the ACA Headquarters, they work to achieve the societies goals and objectives.


Nominating Committee

This Committee exists to solicit and secure formal acceptance of nominations for positions on the Communications Committee, Education Committee, Data, Standards & Computing Committee and the ACA Council.  Positions on the Council for which the Nominating Committee secures candidates include the Vice President (annually), Secretary (every three years) and Treasurer (every three years).   The Nominating Committee is comprised of the immediate Past President, a new member appointed by the current President and one former member of the Committee.

2018 Members:

Christine BeaversAdvanced Light Source | Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Tom Terwilliger | Los Alamos Inst & BioScience Division | Los Alamos National Lab

David Rose | Dept. of Biology | University of Waterloo



Communications Committee

The duties of the Communications Standing Committee are to meet annually to plan the work of the Committee, coordinate electronic and printed publications of the ACA, organize a press conference at the Annual Meetings, organize videotaping of historical and/or plenary lectures at the Annual Meetings and Prepare reviews of crystallographic research.

2018 Members: 

Katrina Forest [2015 - 2018] Dept. of Bacteriology | Univ. of Wisconsin Madison

Jim Fettinger [2016-2019] Dept. of Chemistry | Univ. of California, Davis

Brian Patrick [2017 - 2020] Dept. of Chemistry | Univ. of British Columbia

Krystle McLaughlin [2018-2021] Chemistry Dept. | Vassar College


2018 Education Committee

The duties of the Education Committee are to plan the ACA workshops held at the time of the Annual Meeting, develop methods for providing readily accessible professional development opportunities for members, review the applications to the Student Travel to Annual Meetings Fund and make recommendations to the Council. This committee should meet annually.

2018 Members: 

Andy Howard [2015-2018] Biological & Chemical Sciences | Illinois Inst. of Technology

Danielle Gray [2016-2019] School of Chemical Sciences | Univ. of Illinois 

Charlotte Stern [2017-2020] Chemistry | Northwestern Univ.

Pete Wood [2018-2021] | CCDC


Data, Standards & Computing

The duties of the Data, Standards & Computing are to meet annually to plan the work of the Committee, advise Council on issues regarding crystallographic databases including support, availability and usefulness, promulgate standards for publication and deposition of crystallographic information, work with software developers to encourage adequate documentation and work to assure reasonable access to source code for crystallographic software.

2018 Members: 

Stephen Burley [2015-2018] Center for Integrative Proteomics Research | Rutgers State Univ. of New Jersey

Nadia Zatsepin [2016-2019] Dept. of Physics | Arizona State Univ.

Nicholas Sauter [2017-2020] Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Paul Sanschagrin [2018-2021] CCDC