Fellows of the American Crystallographic Association

An ACA Fellow is defined as "a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of crystallography or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished." If you know of a deserving individual please submit a nomination.  Nominations are due each year by April 1st and the next class will be announced in the summer of 2024.  

List of ACA Fellows

Guidelines for Selecting ACA Fellows

As of August 8, 2013. REVISED 05/25/14 / REVISED 8/2019

The ACA Council has established a Fellows program. It serves to recognize a high level of excellence in scientific research, teaching, and professional duties, but also service, leadership, and personal engagement in the ACA and the broader world of crystallography and science. Our Fellows program celebrates the excellence of our own members from within the ACA and promotes their recognition worldwide to constituencies outside of the ACA, such as their employers, other scientific societies, and the government. ACA Fellows serve as scientific ambassadors to the broader scientific community and the general public to advance science education, research, knowledge, interaction, and collaboration. This program allows us to significantly recognize and honor a broader cross-section of the membership than was previously possible with other, more specific awards. We envision that eventually about 5% of the membership will be recognized as Fellows, and the ACA will announce new inductees and honor all ACA Fellows at the annual Awards Banquet.



A Fellow is defined as "a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of crystallography or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished." Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academia, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the current group of Fellows.



The procedure for nominating and selecting Fellows is as follows:
  • Candidates for ACA Fellow must be a current ACA member, meaning that the candidate must have paid ACA dues for the year they are nominated.

  • A nomination package must be completed by the nominator, who must also be an current ACA member. In a cover letter, a case should be made for how the proposed Fellow meets the above criteria. A brief CV must also be provided, as well as two letters from at least other current ACA members supporting the nomination.

  • Nominations are due each year by April 1st . All nominations will be collected at ACA Headquarters and distributed to the current Fellows for review. A score sheet shall be provided.

  • Nominations for ACA Fellows shall roll over twice, without any additional submissions from the nominator (i.e., candidates for Fellow who are nominated but not elected in one year will be automatically reviewed during each of the following two years), provided that the candidate remains as current ACA.

  • Current Fellows shall provide a yes/no/abstain vote on each nominee. Fellows will submit their recommendations to ACA Headquarters within 3 weeks of receipt of the nomination packet. For a candidate to be approved as a Fellow, greater than 50% of the votes actually cast for that candidate must be “yes,” AND the number of yes votes must be greater than or equal to 25% of the total number of current Fellows. An abstention does not count as a vote.